When children don't eat

Babies have their own way to communicate . If they don't feel comfortable, they usually let us know very clearly. Parents usually quickly understand what whimpering, roaring or whining of their little ones means. However, when a child refuses to eat, there are often more complex reasons behind it.

What is a feeding disorder?

When a toddler doesn't feel like eating their spinach, that's no reason to worry about it. It is only when a baby or toddler refuses to eat for a long period of time that it is considered a feeding disorder. Sometimes this manifests itself when the breastfeeding or feeding itself takes a long time to do it. In other cases, the child can only be fed if the parents distract it and thus cheat with the food on it.

A feeding disorder quickly puts a strain on the relationship with the child and often also on the relationship between the parents.

Our babies' world is constantly changing. The first few months and years are a particularly exciting time for both parents and child. But sometimes these changes unsettle the little ones, they react with a different crying behavior or an irregular sleeping rhythm and sometimes they no longer want to eat. A feeding disorder is the baby's way of responding to changes of the environment, such as suddenly stopping breastfeeding and instead being bottle-fed. It is estimated that 15 to 25 percent of all babies develop a feeding disorder in their first years of life. For most babies, however, these difficulties are overcomed quickly.

When should parents act?

There are several signs parents should watch out for: If the child…

  • ... resists the food, becomes aggressive or is afraid of it.
  • … eats or drinks very slowly.
  • … gets quickly exhausted from eating.
  • … has no appetite, is extremely picky, or prefers porridge even though he can already eat solid food.
  • … has problems with chewing or swallowing.
  • ... can only be fed in certain positions.
  • … is easily distracted and restless.
  • ... has a negatively altered digestion.
  • ... decrease instead of increase.

A pediatrician can identify whether there are emotional or physical reasons behind the feeding disorder as soon as the symptoms appear.

What can parents do?

Sometimes there are hidden traumas behind a feeding disorder. When the little psyche is hurt, a baby has little chance to express himself. Sometimes, on the other hand, the benevolent behavior of the parents is behind the refusal to eat. That's why one thing is particularly important when feeding: mindfulness. There are a few tricks parents can use to teach their child to enjoy eating:

  • Autonomy: Children learn through play, if a baby or toddler wants to eat by himself, he should be allowed to do so. Likewise, a child can decide what and how much he eats.
  • TimingIf a baby doesn't want to eat porridge yet, he usually shows his parents quite clearly. Parents should not follow advice from the outside, but rather listen to their child's reaction when it comes to switching to a different type of food
  • RegularityAs we knoe humans are creatures of habits, so this also and especially applies to very small humans. That is why parents create a clear daily structure with fixed rituals and always the same meal times
  • MealtimesThis also means that there should be no snacks between meals. Because the appetite will only come by the meal time if the child is not full beforehand.
  • PatienceIf the child has no appetite or doesn't feel like eating, they shouldn't have to eat or being forced to eat. Without judgments or disappointments, the meal is cancelled. With this way, the child learns that eating is an offer – and not an obligation.

Dealing with food in a healthy way requires a loving connection with the child. Patience and acceptance play a crucial role when children want to learn to eat.


Titelfoto by Gabriel Crismariu on Unsplash

en_USEnglish

Wenn Kinder nicht essen

Babys haben eine ganz eigene Sprache. Wenn sie sich nicht wohlfühlen, teilen sie uns das meist sehr deutlich mit. Meist verstehen Eltern schnell, was das Wimmern, Brüllen oder Quengeln ihrer Kleinen bedeutet. Wenn ein Kind sich jedoch weigert zu essen, stecken oft komplexere Gründe dahinter.

Was ist eine Fütterstörung?

Wenn ein Kleinkind mal keine Lust darauf hat, seinen Spinat aufzuessen, ist das längst kein Grund zur Beunruhigung. Erst wenn ein Baby oder Kleinkind über einen längeren Zeitraum das Essen ablehnt, handelt es sich um eine Fütterstörung. Manchmal äußert sich das darin, dass das Stillen oder das Füttern sehr lange dauert. In anderen Fällen lässt sich das Kind nur füttern, wenn die Eltern es ablenken und ihm das Essen so unterschummeln.

Schnell wird eine Fütterstörung zu einer Belastung für die Beziehung zum Kind und oft auch für die Paarbeziehung der Eltern.

Die Welt unserer Babys verändert sich ständig. Für Eltern und Kind sind die ersten Monate und Jahre eine besonders spannende Zeit. Doch manchmal verunsichern Veränderungen die kleinen Menschen. Sie reagieren mit einem anderen Schreiverhalten oder einem unregelmäßigen Schlafrhythmus – und manchmal wollen sie nicht mehr essen. Eine Fütterstörung ist die Art des Babys, auf Veränderungen in der Umwelt zu reagieren, zum Beispiel, wenn es plötzlich nicht mehr gestillt wird, sondern das Fläschchen bekommt. Schätzungen zufolge entwickeln 15 bis 25 Prozent aller Babys in ihren ersten Lebensjahren eine Füttestörung. Bei den meisten Babys gehen diese Schwierigkeiten jedoch schnell vorüber.

Wann sollten Eltern handeln?

Es gibt verschiedene Anzeichen, bei denen Eltern wachsam werden sollten: Wenn das Kind…

  • … sich gegen das Essen wehrt, aggressiv wird oder Angst davor hat.
  • … sehr langsam isst oder trinkt.
  • … von der Nahrungsaufnahme schnell erschöpft ist.
  • … keinen Appetit hat, extrem wählerisch ist oder Brei vorzieht, obwohl es bereits feste Nahrung essen kann.
  • … Probleme beim Kauen oder Schlucken hat.
  • … sich nur in bestimmten Positionen füttern lässt.
  • … leicht abzulenken und unruhig ist.
  • … eine negativ veränderte Verdauung aufweist.
  • … ab- statt zunimmt.

Ob seelische oder körperliche Gründe hinter der Fütterstörung stehen, kann ein Kinderarzt zeitnah nach Auftreten der Symptome erkennen.

Was können Eltern tun?

Manchmal liegen versteckte Traumata hinter einer Fütterstörung. Wenn die kleine Psyche verletzt ist, hat ein Baby kaum eine Chance, sich auszudrücken. Manchmal steht dagegen auch das wohlwollende Verhalten der Eltern hinter der Weigerung zu essen. Deshalb ist beim Füttern vor allem eines gefragt: Achtsamkeit. Mit einigen Tricks können Eltern ihrem Kind die Freude am Essen vermitteln:

  • Autonomie: Kinder lernen spielerisch. Wenn ein Baby oder Kleinkind selbst essen möchte, sollte es dies tun dürfen. Ebenso darf ein Kind selbst entscheiden, was und wie viel es isst.
  • Timing: Wenn ein Baby noch keinen Brei essen möchte, zeigt es das seinen Eltern meist recht deutlich. Eltern sollten sich nicht an Ratschlägen von außen orientieren, sondern an der Reaktion ihres Kindes, wenn es um den Umstieg auf eine andere Art der Nahrung geht.
  • Regelmäßigkeit: Der Mensch ist ein Gewohnheitstier. Das gilt auch und besonders für ganz kleine Menschen. Deshalb schaffen Eltern eine klare Tagesstruktur mit festen Ritualen und immer gleichen Essenszeiten.
  • Essenszeiten: Dazu gehört es auch, dass es zwischen den Mahlzeiten möglichst keine Snacks gibt. Denn der Appetit kann nur beim Essen kommen, wenn das Kind nicht vorher schon satt ist.
  • Geduld: Hat das Kind keinen Appetit oder keine Lust auf eine Mahlzeit, sollte es auch nicht essen müssen. Ohne Wertungen oder Vorwürfe fällt die Mahlzeit aus. So lernt das Kind, dass Essen ein Angebot ist – und keine Verpflichtung.

Für einen gesunden Umgang mit Nahrung ist ein liebevoller Umgang mit dem Kind nötig. Geduld und Akzeptanz spielen eine entscheidende Rolle, wenn Kinder das Essen lernen wollen.


Titelfoto by Gabriel Crismariu on Unsplash

de_DEGerman
de_DEGerman