Parents at the intensive care unit

Der ganz normale Wahnsinn


The birth of your child is one of the most important experiences of your life. The transition to parenthood is a major challenge, even with a normal birth. However, if the birth was accompanied by worries and a life-threatening situation for the mother or the child, parents are often overwhelmed with their worries and fears.

No parent is prepared for a premature birth, a congenital heart defect, another illness, or to visit the baby on the intensive care unit. The ups and downs during the stay on the intensive care unit, the worries about survival and the lack of closeness to the newborn leave their mark on the parents.

Sometimes you hardly recognize yourself and maybe you hear from friends or colleagues: "You have changed, I'm worried about you!" This mood is a normal reaction of your psyche to your experiences. Studies show that after a stressful birth and time in the intensive care unit, about 77% of the mothers develop post-traumatic stress disorder. This can be still felt up to four years after birth. 


After the intensive treatment

After intensive care, parents often report...

  • ... that they often feel unconcentrated, exhausted, tired, and yet energized.
  • ..that they have changed since their child was admitted in intensive care and sometimes do not recognize themselves.
  • ...that the experiences after the birth and the stay at intensive care unit often go through your mind without your control
  • … that the visits to the pediatrician or follow-up consultation are very emotional.
  • ... that they go through phases of loss of appetite or sleeping difficulties
  • …. that sometimes they have the impulse to cry, but no tears come.
  • …. that even on small occasions, tears come to their eyes without them being able to control it.
  • …. that they feel weak and empty.

Crisis Intervention: Hope for the Parents

Parents who have to deal with a birth crisis and the intensive care phase do not need classic psychotherapy in the narrower sense, but rather crisis intervention.
The difference its easy to describe. Psychotherapy is about working through past experiences that are currently causing you problems, such as childhood conflicts that lead to couple conflicts for example.

Crisis intervention is about a current crisis that has thrown you off track on your life path. In this form of psychological support, we give you a secure framework in which we can classify your experiences with you so that you can find balance and a stable ground in your life again.
We offer you support at a time when your ground is disappearing from under your feet. With us you will find a quiet atmosphere that you need to relax and leave the noise and hustle of the intensive care unit behind.

Since we have been following children who have spent their first months of life in an intensive care unit for 20 years, we know about the situation of your child. The situation during intensive care units and even after discharge are not easy to deal. Crisis intervention has proven to be effective on these situations.

Through early and targeted interventions, the trauma rate in mothers could be significantly reduced, the well-being improved and psychological health promoted. If you are currently reaching your limits, do not hesitate to contact us. 


Photo by zaya odeesho on Unsplash

en_USEnglish

Eltern auf der Intensivstation

Der ganz normale Wahnsinn


Die Geburt Ihres Kindes gehört zu den wohl bedeutsamsten Erfahrungen Ihres Lebens. Der Übergang zur Elternschaft ist schon bei einer normalen Geburt eine große Herausforderung. Wenn die Geburt jedoch mit Sorgen und einer lebensbedrohlichen Situation für die Mutter oder das Kind einherging, sind Eltern mit ihren Sorgen und Ängsten oft überfordert.

Niemand ist auf eine Frühgeburt, einen angeborenen Herzfehler, eine andere Erkrankung, oder den Besuch auf der Babyintensivstation vorbereitet. Das Auf und Ab in der Zeit auf der Intensivstation, die Sorgen um das Überleben und die fehlende Nähe zum Neugeborenen hinterlassen Spuren bei den Eltern.

Manchmal erkennen Sie sich kaum wieder und vielleicht hören Sie von Freunden oder Bekannten: „Du hast Dich verändert, ich mache mir Sorgen um Dich!“ Diese Stimmung ist eine normale Reaktion Ihrer Psyche auf Ihre Erlebnisse. Studien zeigen, dass nach einer belastenden Geburt und der Zeit auf der Intensivstation etwa 77 Prozent aller Mütter eine posttraumatische Belastungsstörung. Diese kann bis zu vier Jahren nach der Geburt noch spürbar sein. 


Nach der Intensivbehandlung

Nach der Intensivbehandlung berichten Eltern oft, …

  • … dass sie sich oft unkonzentriert, erschöpft, müde, fühlen und dennoch wie unter Strom.
  • ..dass sie sich seit der Intensivbehandlung ihres Kindes verändert haben und sich manchmal nicht wieder erkennen.
  • …dass ihnen die Erlebnisse nach der Geburt und auf der Intensivstation häufig durch den Kopf gehen, ohne dass Sie das beeinflussen können.
  • … dass Kinderarztbesuche oder Nachsorgetermine sie emotional sehr aufwühlen.
  • … dass sie Phasen der Appetitlosigkeit oder Einschlafprobleme haben.
  • …. dass sie manchmal den Impuls zu Weinen haben, aber keine Tränen kommen.
  • …. dass ihnen bei kleinen Anlässen bereits die Tränen kommen, ohne dass sie es kontrollieren können.
  • …. dass sie sich abgestumpft und leer fühlen.

Krisenintervention: Hoffnung für Eltern

Eltern die, die Krise der Geburt und er Intensivphase verarbeiten müssen, brauchen in der Erstversorgung keine klassische Psychotherapie im engeren Sinne, sondern eine Krisenintervention.
Der Unterschied ist leicht zu beschreiben. In der Psychotherapie geht es um die Aufarbeitung vergangener Erfahrung, die Ihnen aktuell Probleme bereit, wie Kinderheitskonflikte die zu Paarkonflikten führen.

In der Krisenintervention geht es um eine aktuelle Krise, die Sie auf Ihrem Lebensweg aus Ihrer Bahn geworfen hat. In dieser Form der Psychologischen Begleitung geben wir Ihnen einen sicheren Rahmen, in dem wir mit Ihnen die Erfahrungen einordnen, damit Sie wieder ein Gleichgewicht und einen stabilen Halt in Ihrem Leben finden.
Wir bieten Ihnen Halt, in einer Zeit in der der Boden unter Ihren Füßen schwindet. Sie finden bei uns die Ruhige Atmosphäre, die Sie brauchen um zur Ruhe zu kommen und den Lärm und die Hektik der Intensivstation hinter sich zu lassen.

Da wir seit 20 Jahren Kindern, die Ihre ersten Lebensmonate auf einer Intensivstation verbracht haben begleiten, wissen wir um die Situation ihres Kindes, die Situtation auf Intensivstationen und um die oft nicht so einfache Zeit nach der Entlassung. Krisenintervention hat sich als wirksam erwiesen.

Durch eine frühzeitige und gezielte Begleitung konnte die Traumarate bei Müttern deutlich gesenkt, das Befinden verbessert und damit die psychologische Gesundheit gefördert werden. Wenn Sie aktuell an Ihre Belastungsgrenzen stoßen, zögern Sie nicht uns aufzusuchen. 


Photo by zaya odeesho on Unsplash

de_DEGerman
de_DEGerman